*eye twitches*

Mirlyn

rebmeM
Nixy said:
ummmm...what do you mean by "automatic acceptance"?

Well, I guess I should speak for here anyway. In Kansas, if you graduate from a Kansas accreditied High School (basically any public school), you are waived of any kind of entrance exam to a Kansas public college. The only thing you have to do is officially apply to a public school and you're in (automatically). I *think* its that way across the nation, but I could be wrong.

Basically, graduate from a state-funded school and you are virutally guaranteed to any public college in that same state.

greenfreak

There are schools around here that have really loose requirements for acceptance and thus are labeled "13th grade" and stuff like that but I don't think there's any school you're guaranteed to get into. As far as I know when I graduated high school, we all had to qualify and take exams to get into the various colleges we went to.

Mirlyn

rebmeM
greenfreak said:
There are schools around here that have really loose requirements for acceptance and thus are labeled "13th grade" and stuff like that but I don't think there's any school you're guaranteed to get into. As far as I know when I graduated high school, we all had to qualify and take exams to get into the various colleges we went to.
There are entrance exams for private and specialty schools, but not for most public institutions. I suppose guarantee is a harsh word, more like...first consideration. I don't think they guarantee anything, but its considered so.

If you go out of state, you aren't given the same treatment. I don't know the real reason behind it, but I'd imagine it'd have something to do with equal opportunity or something related.