Winemaking

wine4all

SWM 40 seeking truth
I am an amateur wine maker and would be happy to discuss winemaking with anyone who does or is interested in making wine. My speciality is Ports and Cream Sherry, but I have made many wines from Apple to Zinfandel and am willing to share my experiences.

Cheers!

Q

stepmosnter
Staff member
I would love to hear some of the details of wime making. I have only the vaguest concept of what's involved, so don't spare any details. :)

Inkara1

Fresno State offers an Enology (winemaking) degree. One of only two (or three, something like that... very very few though) to offer such a degree.

So our basketball team might be fodder for a 60 minutes piece, but at least we offer an Enology degree! :D

wine4all

SWM 40 seeking truth
UC Davis also has a degree in "Fermentation Arts".

Winemaking 101:

Q: Can wine be made from ANY fruit???
A Technically...NO. True WINE is only made from grapes in the vinifera family. But who cares??? Damn french are way too anal about all this. :mad:

Basically winemaking is simple. You take grapes, crush them to get the juice flowing, press them to get it flowwing even more, add yeast and wait.

God + Grape + Time = Wine!!!

Obviously the above is over simplified, but not much. Even if you don't add "wine" yeast, natural yeasts will cause fermentation to start. Unfortunately, you cannot depend on natural yeast to produce a good wine consistiently. Therefore, you not only add a pure "wine" yeast culture but you also add Potassium Metabisulfite to inhibit the growth of wild yeasts prior to the addition of the good stuff.